The Journey from IQ to EQ to AQ.

From Intelligence to Empathy to Resilience

The article narrates the author’s journey from prioritizing Intelligence Quotient (IQ) to discovering the importance of Emotional Quotient (EQ) and eventually recognizing Adversity Quotient (AQ).

AI Image generated by Author

In the earlier stages of my education, I prioritized my Intelligence Quotient (IQ), dedicating myself to academic pursuits. Books were the path to success I was told by all and IQ was the key to a shiny future.

Upon entering the workforce, I discovered that my proficiency in calculus did little to aid me in selling insurance policies, and my knowledge of Heisenberg’s Principle did not impact my performance appraisal in a broking firm positively.

Colleagues who didn’t know Calculus from Nucleus were doing great — Thank you very much for nothing Mr. Newton!

In more than ten years of job hopping, I realised that I had overlooked Emotional Quotient, my excessive focus on IQ had skewed the growth of my EQ. Many times, during my tenure in the cubicle jungle, I stumbled because I lacked the necessary resilience and emotional stability.

Around my 40s, I made career switch and left corporate world for good. Gradually, my perspective on success has shifted. An afternoon walk with my son seems more valuable than a “high profile” team lunch.

As friends endure the loss of spouses, as we grapple with health challenges, and as we all advance toward old age, the notion of success resembles the shiny leather ball of my youth — something for which I would have sacrificed my arm and leg in the past, but now it holds no more significance than a mere ornament in the living room.

Amazon

Today I resonate with Pacino’s sentiment in Scarface: “Everyday above ground is a good day”. Success is being alive, mobile and free.

Long ago a beloved professor, Dr. Anand Sukumaran, from my MBA days would often declare, “Even if you don’t secure a job placement or marry the person of your dreams — hey, at least you’re alive!”

Now I understand what Dr. Anand meant.

Life is Suffering — as per Buddha & the only way out is to have a mental toolkit on how to deal with misery.

And at this stage in my journey, I’ve met a new concept: Adversity Quotient.

Adversity quotient (AQ) refers to the ability of an individual to cope with and overcome adversity or challenges in life. It encompasses resilience, determination, and the capacity to adapt in difficult situations.

The capability to adapt to a difficult situation or to overcome challenges, whether they are caused by external factors or by oneself is the measure of your AQ. The ability to chart the course of a Boeing during tumultuous weather.

AI Image generated by Author

People who have good AQ levels are more at peace with themselves than people who might have just chased success.

Some daily life examples that illustrate Adversity Quotient:

  1. Job Loss: After losing a job, someone with a high adversity quotient might see it as an opportunity to explore new career paths, update their skills, or start their own business.

Someone with a lower AQ might feel defeated and struggle to bounce back.

AI Image generated by Author

2. Health Challenges: When faced with a health issue, a person with a high AQ might focus on maintaining a positive mindset, seeking out resources for support, and adjusting their lifestyle to cope better.

Meanwhile, someone with a lower AQ might become overwhelmed by fear and uncertainty.

3. Academic Pressure: In school, a student with a high AQ might view academic setbacks as opportunities for growth, seeking help from teachers or tutors and adjusting their study habits accordingly.

Conversely, a student with a lower AQ might feel discouraged and give up more easily when faced with challenges.

AI Image generated by Author

4. Relationship Struggles: When dealing with relationship difficulties, someone with a high AQ might work on communication skills, seek counselling, or find constructive ways to resolve conflicts.

On the other hand, a person with a lower AQ might feel helpless or blame themselves excessively, leading to further strain on the relationship.

In each of these examples, individuals with higher adversity quotient demonstrate resilience, problem-solving skills, and a willingness to adapt, while those with lower AQ may struggle more with setbacks and find it harder to bounce back from adversity.

And that’s my journey from IQ to EQ to AQ. I hope this was of value to you.🍁

--

--

Navneet S Maini 🔭💥🤔 | @isequalto_klasses

Chasing Maths, Science for💲Photography, Stocks, Movies, Books, Travelling for ❤️ Jamming about everything here 📝